The Enrique S. Camarena Educational Foundation was founded to preserve and promote the sacrifices made by Special Agent “Kiki” Camarena as well as all law enforcement officers who have given their lives in fighting drug abuse. The foundation promotes drug-free education activities for our Nation’s youth. It has been nationally recognized that drug abuse is a self-destructive activity that also negatively impacts numerous lives, the educational process and our society.

In 2005, the foundation established The Drug Abuse Education Scholarship Program in an effort to promote a discussion of drug-free lifestyles among our Nation’s youth. The annual scholarship program recognizes outstanding high school seniors who have exemplified the personal and educational lifestyles that promote success in the future as adults. The scholarship winners receive scholarship awards for use in their college studies.

The scholarship participants are evaluated on their participation in public or school service programs, their formal educational plans, their high school grade point average, two letters of recommendation as well as a written essay proposing an effective educational drug abuse prevention program for their school or their community.

Complete Scholarship App 2022

Past Scholarship Winners

2019 Scholarship Winners

Juliana Valenzuela

Eliannie Hernandez

Isabella Isaia

Jaylon Jones

Mariano Peinado

Thaily Valdati

Melanie Galindo

Rebecca Moreno

Sierra Tapia

Vanessa Cantu

2018 Scholarship Winners

Rosendo Espinoza, Calexico, CA

Alitzah Saenz; Calexico, CA

Angelina Valenzuela; El Centro, CA

2017 Scholarship Winners

Johanna Elizabeth Apodaca Hernandez; Porterville, CA

Nhi Duong; San Diego, CA

Mikayla Kappes; San Diego, CA

Marisol Mercedes Portal; San Diego, CA

Kenzie Milhous; Porterville, CA

Michael  A. Mongiello; Jamul, CA

Clarissa Nava; El Centro, CA

Steven Torres; Calexico, CA

Abby Virginia; Watson Lindsay, CA

Mai Villa; San Diego, CA

2016 Scholarship Winners

Bethany Mudge; Spring Valley, CA

Lea Modelo Ortiz; San Diego, CA

Sydney Garcia; Porterville, CA

Maria Alvarez; San Diego, CA

Charlene Miciano; San Diego, CA

Maycee Johnson; Parker, AZ

Daniel ‘Riley Hart; El Cajon, CA

2015 Scholarship Winners

Kasey E. Allen; Brawyley, CA

Aurora Espinoza; San Diego, CA

Dezarae Frost; San Diego, CA

Jerry M. Garcia; Porterville, CA

Lissa Garcia; Chula Vista, CA

Viviana S. Gomez; Exeter, CA

Rose Gonzalez; San Diego, CA

Josue Guerrero; San Diego, CA

Michael Merzoian; Porterville, CA

Eric Rosales; San Diego, CA

2014 Scholarship Winners

Logan Brown; Eudora, KS

Jeremy Esquer; Calexico, CA

Analie Islas; San Diego, CA

Zaira Martinez; San Diego, CA

Aurora Navarette; Fallbrook, CA

Tina Quach; San Diego, CA

Jonathan Rivera; San Diego, CA

Sharanya Thiagarajan; Springville, CA

Joaquin Villegas; El Centro, CA

2013 Scholarship Winners

Jordyn Allen; Brawley, CA

Allison Bumata; Chula Vista, CA

Madeline Garcia; Porterville, CA

Lucerito Gutierrez; San Diego, CA

Ana Laura Hernandez; Cardiff, CA

Cassandra Lopez; El Centro, CA

Adrianna Ramirez; Murrieta, CA

Hector Teran; Calexico, CA

Nancy Torres; Reedley, CA

Alexandra (Lexi) Turner; Fallbrook, CA

2012 Scholarship Winners

Taylor Highland; Escondido, CA

Juan Torres; San Diego, CA

Genesis Maganda; San Diego, CA

Ryan Garofalo; Poway, CA

Derrick Lee Mar; Rowland Heights, CA

Korral Taylor; San Diego, CA

Kristin Preston; Imperial Beach, CA

Gustavo Flores; San Diego, CA

Nathan Benjamin; Mechanicsburg, PA

Brandon Nicholas Rodriguez; Imperial, CA

2011 Scholarship Winners

Alan Albino; Fallbrook, CA

Raymond D’Alessio III; Cypress, TX

Jovonnie Gonzalez; Chula Vista, CA

Yazmin Paulina Hernandez; San Diego, CA

Jonathan Kenerson; Las Vegas, NV

Kimetria Leonard; San Diego, CA

Jenna Limon; Calipatria, CA

Juan R. Rodriguez; Fallbrook, CA

Leslie Villanueva; Imperial, CA

2010 Scholarship Winners

Wade Colburn; Fallbrook, CA

Daniela Flores; Calexico, CA

McKenna Geary; Highland, CA

Isabel Gutierrez; Imperial, CA

Andrew Helson; San Diego, CA

Emily Klosterman; Williamsville, NY

Amber Lassiter; South Boston, VA

2009 Scholarship Winners

Aaron Dockser; Reading, MA

Nadia Farjood; San Diego, CA

Jennifer Fuchs; Ellsworth, WI

Luke King; Chula Vista, CA

Jesse Sanchez; San Diego, CA

Richard Wood; Brawley, CA

2008 Scholarship Winners

Kassandra Arreola; Palm Desert, CA

Jill Crothers; Imperial, CA

Elizabeth Franklin; Carrollton, KY

Starla Garcia; Pharr, TX

Anna Phillips; Fallbrook, CA

2007 Scholarship Winners

Julia Guerra; Holtville, CA

Laura Marx; San Diego, CA

Haidang Nguyen; San Diego, CA

2006 Scholarship Winners

Isela Gutierrez; Imperial, CA

Jessica Ibarra; El Centro, CA

Katherine Kukiuchi; Imperial, CA